Forums

Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: A homage to jumping in cs 1.6  (Read 4902 times)
Rocketman

No tears now; only dreams
Big post incoming...

So I've been wanting to make this thread for a few weeks now and now that I finished finals I finally found the time and motivation to do so. Before you read any further I just want to mention that the following jumps in these videos are HARD to do... it literally takes years to get that good at airstrafing to be able to pull this stuff off. I suspect that most of you have not jumped at all in cs 1.6, so I just wanted to make that known. These videos are perhaps comparable to dellorts movies in terms of skill, for their respective time periods at least.

I started jumping/surfing/bhopping and all that jazz in cs 1.6 prolly about 6-7 years ago. I was a complete noob for a long time, and I was mostly interested in surfing, simply cuz I liked going fast. kzing otherwise known as climbing was never very interesting to me for that reason. I got into bhopping shortly after surfing, and likewise I was never very good for a long time. In fact, by the time I quit jumping in cs 1.6 around 4 years ago, I was merely a no-namer, though I did get close to breaking a few world records. But honestly I can only look back with nostalgia. The community was awesome and the servers I used to occupy often had top-level jumpers come in every so often. Everyone would go nuts if one of the top-level jumpers came in to the server, and at least half the team would spec them to see them in action.

So now I'm just going to explain how jumping worked in cs 1.6... Jumping in that game is all about air strafing. If you were a good air strafer, you could easily be a good kzer/bhopper/surfer/ljer. Before I continue on, you should familiarize yourself with some jumping terms, some that are actually pretty relevant to jumping in tf2 as well.